Book Review / Kids

My Review of “Candle Bible: Toddler Edition”


Ok I hated to do it but today I added my first title to the “Kick It Kids” page. The truth must be told. Seems like everyone on Amazon just thinks it’s a great book. I just don’t understand how any parent could overlook what I found inside. I even asked a few people that I know how they felt about it. Not giving my opinion, just reading the pages. They all responded with the same reaction, or variation of….. “WHAT? ARE YOU SERIOUS? IN A CHILDREN’S BOOK?”

Please don’t get me wrong. I don’t want to be attacked by Christians about my review but in all honesty, if you really read the pages of this book, you won’t find a ton of “bad things” and the book is really beautiful. I just cannot believe anyone would put in print (the quotes below) for children, specifically toddlers.

Read my review below! Tell me what you think!

Review first posted on Amazon.com
1.0 out of 5 stars Not having it!, March 19, 2013

I thought this book was super cute. Once I received it and started reading it to my toddler, I was thrown back by a couple of the pages. If you get this book your probably a Christian. My personal belief is that some Bible stories should be censored according to age. Some things are a little harsh for toddler ears. And I quote from the book:

pg 23. “Noah builds an ark. Years passed and more people were born. Often they did bad things. God became sorry he ever made the world.”

pg.150-151. “The saddest day. The soldiers took Jesus before the ruler of the country. He said, “Jesus hasn’t done anything wrong.” But a crowd of people shouted “kill Jesus, kill him” So the ruler sent Jesus to die.”

OMG! These pages need to be edited out somehow. Some stories are for a more mature mind. I realize this is the belief of most but I personally do NOT want my toddler running around saying “kill Jesus, kill him” because I read it to him in a book. Maybe when he is a little older to understand about the crucifixion but not at 2 years old! I am not havin’ it!

I took a sharpie and colored over these lines. The rest of the book is gorgeous and that is the only reason my son gets to keep it. I am sure my minister would agree with me.

2 thoughts on “My Review of “Candle Bible: Toddler Edition”

  1. Pingback: My Review of “Candle Bible: Toddler Edition” | Say What? Savannah Mae

  2. Pingback: April Blog Carnival | The First 750 Words

Comment Below!

