Book Review

Book Review of Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn


This book review is  written by Aidan N Rocky’s Mama. She is a good friend of mine who loves to read. I saw a post on Facebook from her after she read this book. I asked her to please write a review for my blog because everyone just says the same things on reviews. I was torn at that moment because I have been eying this best seller for a while now. Wondering why the cover was screaming for me to buy it and read it. To be honest, I will probably buy it and read it…..Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn. If you have read this book, I want to know what you think about it!

Aidan N Rocky’s Mama says….
Gone Girl starts off by dropping you into the middle of a relationship between two interesting people; Amy and Nick Dunne. The story is told in first person, the chapters alternating between the two. Nick’s perspective is in real-time leading up to and after his wife has disappeared and Amy’s is told from her diary.

Gone Girl will have you loving the characters one moment and hating them the next. Gillian Flynn is able to weave a web of confusion and emotion. She will hold you at the edge of your seat, guessing what will happen next; then she drops you off a cliff.

I tore through section one, trying to figure out what was going on…did he do it? How does he have such bad luck? Where is Amy? Section II explains it all. It is at that point I wish I hadn’t started the story. The saga winds itself down into a muddled pool of drama. It seems as though Flynn wasn’t sure how to bring this to a close and almost took the easy way out.

Is it a good book? Yes. Does it deserve the acclaim and Bestseller’s status it has received? I don’t feel as though it does; of course, I’m just a girl who loves Pattersonian mysteries and cheesy romances.

3 thoughts on “Book Review of Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

  1. I thoroughly enjoyed this book although I agree it got a bit murky at the end. The thought of how easy it is to manipulate thoughts and actions of others which is the core of this book stayed with me a long time after I had finished the book. I recommend this book, it’s a good read.

  2. When I initially commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get several emails with the same comment. Is there any way you can remove people from that service? Appreciate it!

Comment Below!

