Mystery | Thriller / Novel

My Book Review of Innocent Monsters by Barbara Doherty

Amazon Digital Services, Inc. ASIN: B00BQYQJH2

Innocent Monsters by Barbara Doherty
Amazon Digital Services, Inc.  ASIN: B00BQYQJH2
5 Stars- I am devastated, in a disgustingly wonderful way.

I am writing this review at 12:17am on May 14th, 2013. I have just closed the case cover of my Nook. My heart is pounding. My mind tangled in the web of words that Barbara created. This masterpiece that I feel everyone is missing out on.

What is it about Jessica? Why can’t she complete her mission in writing her second novel? She keeps putting it off, blowing off her editor, making excuses. The death of her sister continues to haunt her. Why would Kaitlyn kill herself? It just didn’t make sense. Jessica could not understand but finally blamed it on what could have been her hidden suffering of the damages from their past. Their drunken father’s abuse helped her come to terms with why Kaitlyn would have taken her own life.

Jessica Lynch is an author. She has written a bestselling novel about the truth that she owns but everyone else views as fiction. At her book signing appearance, Jessica meets the strange William Blaise, a man that tries so hard to get away from his own past. Seems that the demons haunting them, is something they both share.

The novel is so eloquently written. From the very first page my heart and soul were broken. Feeling the pain described—the abuse that no child should ever have to endure. I became Jessica. I became Kaitlyn. I became William. In some strange sick twisted way, there just isn’t any other way this story could have unfolded better.

Barbara Doherty is one hell of a woman. She writes like a dream…or is it more of a nightmare? I still have a bit of anxiety after finishing the book. The kind of anxiety that makes you aware that you were just taken on a ride. Deep down in the pit of my stomach, I yearn for more! I cannot wait to see what she has in store with her next novel.

If you find the urge to be freaked out, a little turned on, a little disgusted…..click the book cover and make this book your next “1-Click” purchase.

Ignore the haters who gave her less than 5 star reviews. My boyfriend told me that if the book consumes you, the author has done their job. Innocent Monsters happens to be 1 of 2 books I have read recently that has completely consumed me, making me feel tons of emotions for fictional characters. I am devastated, in a disgustingly wonderful way.

For sure, Innocent Monsters has made it to the Keep It! list!

Connect with Barbra on Facebook

One thought on “My Book Review of Innocent Monsters by Barbara Doherty

  1. Pingback: Innocent Monsters | Rebecca's Reads Blog

Comment Below!

