Book Review / Poetry

My Book Review of Between Eden and the Open Road by Philip Gaber

Between_Eden_and_the_Cover_for_Kindle[1]

Review first published on RebeccasReads

Between Eden and the Open Road
Philip Gaber
CreateSpace (2012)
ISBN 9780615585864
Reviewed by Savannah Mae for RebeccasReads (6/13)

“Between Eden and the Open Road” by Philip Gaber is surely an entertaining read. I was certain by the cover it would turn to be some type of spiritual kind of book, but that taught me to not judge a book by its cover. I giggled at some of the stories. It’s harshly honest and has stories about real life struggles and real life dumb stuff that people do, or in this case whoever the story was about.

I would say that Philips book deserves to be on coffee tables and I would imagine that men would like to see a copy for pleasure reading while in the private room. It’s simple yet complex. It’s serious but funny.

Personally, I love the first story called “she’s alone but chemically balanced”. I relate to this; a woman judging herself through the eyes of a man watching. Philip calls it “ill-at-ease”.

Stories of a disconnected man separating, his self from the world. Trading out one woman for another not interested in being connected with anyone.

Touching on foolish religions, random encounters with strangers, lots of laughs I would recommend this book to anyone with a sense of self (or not) and a sense of humor. You will find one story or another that you connect with. Either it’s true for you or true for someone you know really well.

“Between Eden and the Open Road” is a must have! I would say the direct appeal would be for a man but as a woman, I was entertained to the max. Excellent read! 5 huge gold stars. I haven’t read anything else like it yet!

You can find Philip (and me) “Between Eden and the Open Road”.

Comment Below!

