Guest Posts

6 thoughts on “Guest Post by Author Margarita Gakis – Author vs. Storyteller

  1. Margarita,
    I like your distinction between author and storyteller, because storytelling includes passing along our oral history, which seems to have been lost in our world governed by technology. From face-to-face conversations, to sitting around with friends reminiscing about past adventures, we have “forgotten” how to make time to share stories.

    I appreciate authors who place the STORY in a special category of its own. The characters, places, times and plot are important, but the story brings all of them together. The story is what draws me in, as a reader. And, the story, dictates whether I will read the book again, and again. A good story is like visiting with old friends.

    So, since you’ve identified yourself a storyteller, when/how did you know you had this special gift? And, do you have a special milestone to achieve before you’re comfortable referring to yourself as an author?

    Regards,
    Michelle
    http://nursewannabeinfl.com

    • Hi Michelle, thanks for reading and commenting!
      Regarding my own journey, I always knew I struggled with the word author. I felt strange and hesitant to use it about myself. As I get older [shhh, I won’t say how old!] I try to pay attention to those feelings and figure out where they come from – is it insecurity? is it something else?

      While thinking, I realized that I never referred to my work as ‘my book’ or ‘my novel’. I’d always called them ‘my stories’ – and thinking back, I’d done that consistently since I was in high-school when talking about my work. I still do it today!

      I also realized that I was more concerned with readers or the ‘audience’ identifying with my characters. Did they like the people I wrote about? Were they interested in what happened next? While I do worry about the style of my writing and how I put the words down, I find it’s the last on my list of things I’m hoping people connect with.

      As far as milestones, well, they say it takes 10000 hours of practice and work to be an expert in something, so I guess I’m just going to keep plugging away at it. I do feel my writing gets better as I continue working. I think of it like my cello practice – I don’t get better thinking about playing the cello, I have to sit down and do it. Sometimes it sounds like a dying goose. Sometime I get it just right and I keep aiming for those moments. I do the same with my writing.

      Thanks again for reading and commenting!
      M

      • Margarita,
        I won’t ask your age, because I’m likely older than you, my dear. 🙂

        I love that you want to know how and why people connect with your characters and writing style. Treating writing as a multi-layered craft elevates it to a new, better level.

        Continued success!
        Michelle

  2. Good post. I prefer the storyteller to the author if this is the definition. I’ve read some books that were beautifully written but had absolutely nothing happening. I’ve thrown such books across the room and picked up another. It’s nice when things are said in a lovely way, but if that’s all you have it’s like only being pretty and nothing else. Boring!

    • Thanks for commenting!
      I like when stuff happens in a book! I want to be entertained! If it can be said/written beautifully, then great! if not, I’ll read it anyway. We’ve all read books that weren’t well written but we still couldn’t put down! That’s great storytelling!

  3. Pingback: Author vs Storyteller | Margarita Gakis

Comment Below!

