Book Review / Romance

Book Review of Shuttered Affections (Cornerstone #1) by Rene Folsom

Shuttered Affections (Cornerstone #1) by Rene Folsom
Indie Style Press ISBN 9781492916772
Reviewed by Savannah Mae for Say What? Savannah Mae November 2013
3 Stars- Great start to the Cornerstone Series!

Article first published as eBook Review: ‘Shuttered Affections’ by Rene Folsom on Blogcritics.shuttered

Shuttered Affections” by Rene Folsom was truly a good read. The story is about Juliana Petersen and her mission to put her past behind her. I quickly became fond of Juliana because of her light hearted personality. Not to mention she sings in her car and taps her fingers to the beat. I like a girl who rocks out during commutes.

Juliana is a photography student in Florida who finds that her first encounter with her hot new professor was when he stole her parking spot while she was in a rush to get to class. Not able to take her eyes off of this man, she knew she was in trouble. Aiden Stone knows he shouldn’t be flirting with his students but he can’t help himself.

I feel like the romance between the two had good timing. Some romance novels can really rush to the romance instead of letting it grow. There are sexual scenes that made me blush. Rene seems to have a way of doing that. There were parts of the book that were a little wordy or slightly over descriptive for my particular taste but setting aside those few paragraphs, I was involved and intrigued to find out what it is about Juliana’s past that is haunting her.

The editing is excellent and I am glad that Rene focuses on her editing because more often than not, the lack of editing can be such a turn off. Now I am waiting for book two to come my way because I am excited to find out where Rene takes us next. The suspense is forthcoming and I am waiting!! I also have to mention the cover is gorgeous and I want that tattoo!

Overall, I give “Shuttered Affections: Cornerstone #1” by Rene Folsom 3.5 stars. I have a good feeling about book 2 that it will be even better than the 1st!

Comment Below!

