Book Review / Featured Books & Authors / Mystery | Thriller

Book Review: ‘Stillwell: A Haunting on Long Island’ by Michael Phillip Cash

StillwellStillwell: A Haunting on Long Island” by Michael Phillip Cash is the story about Paul Russo and his struggle with maintaining after the recent loss of his wife. Paul has three surviving children and daily routines are proving to be harder and harder as the effects after Allison’s death.  He must pull it together and keep going for his kids but he is slowly dying inside, unsure of how he can survive without the love of his life.

First of all, Michael has presented such an emotional story; I was brought to tears learning the depth of Paul’s love for his wife. This story had a profound effect on me and I was completely wrapped emotionally around Paul and his children.

The story is set on Long Island where Paul is a real estate agent. Heading back to work, Paul has a returning client ready to sell their property known as Stillwell. Oh how he needs the money after blowing through most of their savings while Allison was sick, he is challenged with taking the listing knowing its history and wondering if there is a buyer out there for the house. As the details emerge, the story takes off in a page turning ghost story to set his wife’s soul free.

There are lots of fictional historical aspects along with some non-fiction components which Michael mentions at the end of the book. It is awesome how everything came together and had me on the edge of my seat with my heart pounding. The book was a super quick read for me and I was able to finish it in just one sitting. Once I started I couldn’t stop reading and when the book came to an end, I was satisfied.

I have read a couple other titles from Michael Phillip Cash and I have to say that his writing style is totally my thing. I have been fully engaged in all of Michael’s material I have read so far and I look forward to the next book that will consume me, again, for hours!

Stillwell: A Haunting on Long Island

Michael Phillip Cash
CreateSpace (2013)
ISBN: 9781484196090
Reviewed by Savannah Mae for Rebecca’s Reads (2/14)

Article first published for RebeccasReads

Comment Below!

